LibGuides: History Subject Guide: Home

History Subject Guide

Welcome!

This History Subject Guide provides a list of helpful tips and resources to use when conducting historical research. The guide is subdivided by type and format of resource.

In This Guide:

Books This page discusses how to find books, eBooks, and audiobooks through the Library. Included is a Featured Books gallery that lists a collection of titles relevant to historical study.
Databases This page includes links to relevant library databases.
Online Resources This page includes links to relevant webpages, archival collections, newspaper databases, and etcetera.
Evaluating Sources Clicking this tab will take you to a page in our Introduction to Research Skills guide which discusses how to evaluate sources.
Contact Us This page includes contact information for the Library and a guide to navigating the Library building.

Other Relevant Guides:

Citation Manuals

APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style (7th Edition) by American Psychological Association Print editions of the APA Publication Manual are available in the library, both in the reference collection and in the course reserves.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832178
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

APA Style Provided by the American Psychological Association, APA Style provides an overview of content covered in the APA Manual of Style. Under the "Instructional Aids" tab, you can also find checklists, sample papers, posters, and much more.
Purdue OWL - APA Formatting and Style Guide (7th Edition) Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is one of the most commonly used (and well-known) online citation guides available. Purdue OWL provides a basic overview of APA style and formatting, offering example reference entries and in-text citations in a variety of formats. Additional resources, such as sample papers and PowerPoint presentations, are also available.
Excelsior OWL - APA Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed and interactive guide to APA style and formatting. Example APA in-text citations and references are offered for works in a variety of formats. Also available are sample papers, essay templates, interactive activities, and side by side comparisons of reference, parenthetical, and narrative citations.

MLA Style

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America Copies of the MLA Handbook are available for use within the Library.
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

Purdue OWL - MLA Style Introduction Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is one of the most commonly used (and well-known) online citation guides available. Purdue OWL provides a basic overview of MLA style and formatting, offering example works cited entries and in-text citations in a variety of formats. Additional resources, such as sample papers and PowerPoint presentations, are also available.
MLA Style Center MLA Style Center is a free online resource offered by the Modern Language Association. Included in the website are Works Cited quick guides, an interactive practice template, and much more.
Excelsior OWL - MLA Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed and interactive guide to MLA style and formatting. Example MLA in-text citations and works cited entries are offered for works in a variety of formats. Also available are sample papers, essay templates, and interactive activities.

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff Smiley Memorial Library has print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style available on reserve and in the reference collection.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Online Resources

Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style Online offers many resources that can assist users in learning and using the Style guidelines. Beneficial pages to check out are the Citation Quick Guide and the Student Resources.
Purdue OWL's Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a guide to the Chicago Manual of Style and includes several resources, such as a sample paper and citation guide.
Excelsior OWL - Chicago Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed guide to Chicago style and formatting. Example Chicago in-text citations and works cited entries are provided, along with a Chicago essay template.

Featured History Reference Materials

Milestone Documents in American History

Editor(s): Kelli McCoy
Publisher: Schlager Group Inc.

The Schlager Anthology of Westward Expansion

Editor(s): Jennifer Koshatka Seman
Copyright: © 2022 by Schlager Group Inc. 2022

Opinions Throughout History: Presidential Authority

Author(s): Micah L. Issitt
Publisher: Grey House Publishing

Milestone Visual Documents in American History

Editor(s): Craig Kaplowitz
Publisher: Schlager Group Inc.

Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices

Editor(s): Roger Chapman, James Ciment
Publisher: Routledge

Every Day of the Civil War: A Chronological Encyclopedia

Author(s): Bud Hannings
Publisher: McFarland

Cold War: An International History

Author(s): Carole K. Fink
Publisher: Westview Press

National Geographic Almanac of World History

Author(s): Patricia S. Daniels, Stephen G. Hyslop, Douglas Brinkley
Publisher: National Geographic Society

Infographic
Text Description

Text description in alternate tab of content box

Primary versus Secondary

Comparing 2 Types of Source Materials

Primary Source

"A primary source is a first-hand record of an event or topic created by a participant in or a witness to that event or topic."*
Examples:
- A Frederick Douglass memoir
- A letter written by a soldier in the American Civil War about the Battle of Gettysburg
- A recording of Winston Churchill's "Their Finest Hour" Speech
- A journal article presenting original statistical data from a new study

Secondary Source

"A secondary source is second-hand information written or created after an event. Secondary sources may summarize, interpret, review, or criticize existing events or works."*
Examples:
- A Frederick Douglass biography
- A book about the history of the Civil War
- An article analyzing Churchill's role as a world leader during World War II
- A literature review examining findings from past studies

* Source: Library of Congress. (2020, August 17). Frequently asked questions: General: What is a Primary Source. Ask a Librarian. https://ask.loc.gov/faq/303148

Browse History Reference Material

Browse History Topics

Credo Reference has a "Browse Topics" feature with several categories relating to history. Entries are arranged alphabetically, making it easy for you to quickly browse for more information on topics, events, or people.

History Subject Guide: Home

History Subject Guide

Welcome!

In This Guide:

Other Relevant Guides:

Citation Manuals

APA Style

Online Resources

MLA Style

Online Resources

Chicago Manual of Style

Online Resources

Featured History Reference Materials

Primary versus Secondary

Comparing 2 Types of Source Materials

Primary Source

Secondary Source

Browse History Reference Material

Browse History Topics

Smiley Memorial Library