This Music and Theatre Subject Guide is designed to help you find scholarly and non-scholarly resources. The guide can be navigated from the tabs at the top of the screen or from the "Next" and "Previous" navigation buttons at the bottom of the screen.
Did you know that all CMU students, faculty, and staff can register for a free account with The New York Times? The New York Times is your go to place for contemporary updates and news on the Arts. The New York Times' Arts sections include Theater, Music, Television, Movies, Dance, and more. Visit the Databases tab of this guide for more information on how to register your free account.
Author(s): Phil Hardy
Publisher: Faber and Faber Ltd
Author(s): Michael C. Thomsett
Publisher: McFarland
Editor(s): Michael Swift
Publisher: Greene Media
Author(s): Joyce Bourne
Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
Please see Frequently Asked Questions about Library Databases for more information on Central Search and other library databases. (Start banner image courtesy of brgfx on Freepik)
Central Search is CMU's general-use database that compiles results from the library catalog and most of the subject-specific databases to which Smiley Memorial Library subscribes. In the massive Central Search collection, you can find academic peer-reviewed journals, eBooks, books, trade journals, newspaper articles, magazines, online resources, and more. It is your one-stop shop for most of your research needs! Please see Frequently Asked Questions about Library Databases for more information on Central Search and other library databases.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style (7th Edition) by
Print editions of the APA Publication Manual are available in the library, both in the reference collection and in the course reserves.
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by 
MLA Handbook by
Copies of the MLA Handbook are available for use within the Library.
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by 
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Smiley Memorial Library has print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style available on reserve and in the reference collection.
Credo Reference has a "Browse Topics" feature with several categories relating to music, theatre, and other performing arts. Entries are arranged alphabetically, making it easy for you to quickly browse for more information on topics, events, or people.
660-248-6271
library@centralmethodist.edu