LibGuides: Criminal Justice Subject Guide: Databases

Criminal Justice in white font in front of a green background. An icon of a police officer is to the left.

General and Reference Databases

Searching Skills - Central Search Quick Reference Guide This two-page handout introduces database search structure and acts as a quick reference guide to the limiters, links, and tools embedded in Central Search

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting your research with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other excellent tertiary sources. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand
Outstanding content from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Programs from more than 700 producers are included.

Browse Videos Specific to Criminal Justice and Law

Films on Demand allows you to browse videos by subject. Choose one of the Criminal Justice subjects below to browse the available videos.

ILL Request

Can't Find the Article You Are Looking For?

If you cannot find the item you need in either our catalog or databases, you can place an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request directly with the Library. Delivery of articles usually takes 3 business days; delivery of books usually takes at least 7 business days.

Go to InterLibrary Loan Form

Featured Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts w/ Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts is the leading full-text database for criminal justice research. It offers an essential collection of journals for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
Forensic Science
Electronic, fully searchable access to Salem Science reference works on Forensic Science.
Nexis Uni
(formerly Lexis-Nexis University) Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. All content is full-text but may not be scholarly.

Are you looking for something else? Browse other databases offered by the Library.

Database Help

Need Tips on How to Search Library Databases?

Are you not sure where or how to start searching library databases? Check out our Introduction to Research Skills guide's Form a Search Strategy and Search Tips pages. As always, you can also reach out to a librarian for assistance.

The NYTimes & The Athletic

Smiley Memorial Library is proud to offer digital access to premier news and sports journalism for all CMU students and faculty. Use your current CMU email address to register.

Image of gavel, handcuffs, and two blue books sitting on a wooden desk

Image by fabrikasimf on Freepik

Criminal Justice Subject Guide: Databases

General and Reference Databases

Central Search by EBSCO

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

Browse Videos Specific to Criminal Justice and Law

ILL Request

Can't Find the Article You Are Looking For?

Featured Databases

Featured Databases

Are you looking for something else? Browse other databases offered by the Library.

Database Help

Need Tips on How to Search Library Databases?

The NYTimes & The Athletic

Smiley Memorial Library