Political Science Subject Guide: Online Resources

Read more about Missouri's Nonpartisan Court Plan from the Missouri Courts website.

The Official Website for the State of Missouri

Chronicling America is an online database from the Library of Congress that includes digitized versions of historic newspapers from across the country. Newspapers date from 1756 to 1963.

The State Historical Society of Missouri has a free collection of digitized historic newspapers published within the state.

All CMU students, faculty, and staff have free digital access to The New York Times.

Issues of the Fayette Advertiser published within the past two months are available on the second floor of the Library.

Issues published within the past two months are available on the second floor of the Library.

LII publishes federal and state laws, providing access to the U.S. Constitution, the U.S. Code, Supreme Court decisions, and more.

"The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States" (from website).

The Constitution Annotated is a government website providing access to the United States Constitution and relevant annotations.

Oyez "is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955" -- from the website.

This link will take you directly to a digital copy of the Missouri State Constitution.

Data.census.gov is the data exploration tool offered by the United States Census Bureau.

This webpage provides access to the U.S. Government's Open Data and offers several tools and resources to interact with over 297,628 datasets.

"The General Social Survey (GSS) is a nationally representative survey of adults in the United States conducted since 1972. The GSS collects data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends in opinions, attitudes and behaviors" (Source: About the GSS).

ICPSR is a consortium of over 800 academic institutions that provides access to social science research data.

Pew Research is a public opinion think-tank that monitors social trends and attitudes. Pew Research has datasets available on their website.

As main webpage for the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides links to various maps, surveys, data sets, and other resources, such as the American Community Survey (ACS).

Managed by the CIA, The World Factbook provides basic information and data on over 265 countries worldwide. Features include Country Comparisons, weekly data updates, and etcetera.

A professional organization for political science professionals, includes links to publications, networking resources, continuing education, and teaching resources.