LibGuides: Using Libby: Accessing CMU's OverDrive Collection

Libby is here! Overdrive is here!

Getting Started with Libby

Libby is an app, run by a vendor, Overdrive, that lets you borrow over 30,000 bestselling, popular ebooks and audiobooks to read on your phone or tablet. You can even send and read your borrowed ebooks to your Kindle ereader (U.S. only)!

With the Overdrive collection, you now have access to over 30,000 contemporary eBooks and audiobooks, courtesy of Smiley Memorial Library!

You can access these titles at any time of the day or night-- all you need is to download the Libby app on your device and use your Eagle Mail to sign in! Do you already have a Libby account through a public library? Great news! You can "stack" library cards to get access to even more titles!

Visit our CMU Libby collection here. It’s free and easy to get started. Learn more at overdrive.com/apps/libby/, or contact us at the Library.

Video Tutorial

Sign in to your CMU Libby Account

Download the Libby app to your phone, iPad, or other device.
Open the Libby App.
Select "Yes" when asked if you have a library card.
Next, click "Search for a Library."
Type "Central Methodist University" into the search bar. When it appears on your screen, click "MOBIUS Consortium: Central Methodist University."
The next step is to sign in. To the right of your screen you should see a message about adding a Library card. Click "Sign in With My Card."
Choose Central Methodist University from the list of universities that appear.
Follow the prompts to sign in with your CMU Eagle Mail account.
Once you have successfully signed in, a digital library card should appear on your screen.
Next, start browsing the Libby collection and find your next great ebook or audiobook!

How to Set Up Your Libby App
This PDF instruction sheet includes step-by-step instructions (with screenshots!) on how to set up your CMU Libby account.

Setting Up Your Free Libby Account through CMU
This Microsoft Sway includes screenshots and step-by-step instructions on how to set up your Libby account.

Add a Library to an Existing Libby Account

Add Smiley Library to an Existing Libby Account

If already have a Libby account through your local public library, the great news is that Libby allows you to access the collections of multiple libraries. With more than one library card linked to your Libby account, you can browse multiple collections of eBooks and audiobooks, all at once!

Using "Add Library" Feature in Libby

Open your Libby app.
Click the menu button at the bottom of the screen.
Under the "Your Libraries" section, choose "Add Library."
Search for Central Methodist University in the search box and choose "MOBIUS Consortium, Central Methodist University" from the list of matching libraries.
Follow the prompts to sign in with your CMU account.

Check out our Adding the CMU Libby Collection to an Existing Libby Account page to view these steps alongside screenshots!

Setting Up the Libby App

What you'll need:

An internet connection
Your Eagle Mail username and password

Please contact the Library if you have trouble signing in to your Libby account.

Request an ebook or audiobook title.

Are You Not Finding What You are Looking For on Libby?

Is there an ebook or audiobook you'd really like, but can't find in Libby? Let us know in this form, and we'll contact you as soon as the item is available.

How do I know if it is available on Libby?

Borrow

When you see "borrow" listed as an option for an eBook or audiobook, that means it is available for you to read/listen to immediately!

Place Hold

The Libby app works a lot like a physical library — there are only a certain number of copies available for use at one time. When you see "Place Hold" instead of "Borrow," that means all available copies of the title are currently in use. Go ahead and click "Place Hold," though, to reserve the book the next time it is available. Libby will give you an estimated time that you will be waiting to read/listen to the title.

Notify Me

If you see "Notify Me" listed for an audiobook or eBook, that means that the Library currently does not have a digital copy of that title. We always encourage you to go ahead and click "Notify Me" anyway, though, because that sends a notification to Library staff members that patrons are interested in that title. We are always adding new titles to the collection, so chances are we might go ahead and purchase some copies!