LibGuides: Nursing Subject Guide: Online Resources

Online Resources

PubMed
PubMed is an extremely comprehensive online database offered by the National Institutes of Health. PubMed facilitates citation searching across MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), and Bookshelf. Some full text is available.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online academic search engine designed to index scholarly sources, citations, and other resources. Google Scholar can provide full-text options for some resources.
medRxiv
MedRxiv ("med-archive") is a preprint server/archive for unpublished preprint manuscripts in medical, clinical, and related health science fields. Please note that preprints are early versions of scientific work that have not undergone the peer review process. "They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information" (from the website).

American Medical Association
Founded in 1847, the AMA's website includes resources for medical professionals as well as materials for health care advocacy.
American Nurses Association
The United States' largest professional organization for nurses, including continuing education as well as advocacy resources.
Missouri Nurses Association
The Missouri Nurses Association is a professional organization for nurses in the state of Missouri.
National Student Nurse's Assocation
NSNA is a national organization for nursing students. According to the website, "NSNA’s mission is to mentor students preparing for initial licensure as registered nurses, and to convey the standards, ethics, and skills that students will need as responsible and accountable leaders and members of the profession."

National Center for Health Statistics
A division of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), this has results of health surveys as well as vitals statistics.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR is a consortium of over 800 academic institutions that provides access to social and health science research data.
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
HMCA is a data archive hosted by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.
more...less...
"The data collections in HMCA primarily includes large-scale surveys of the American public about public health, attitudes towards health reform, and access to medical care; surveys of health care professionals and organizations, public health professionals, and nurses; evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care, and many other topics and populations of interest" (from the website).

Innerbody Anatomy Explorer
A website offering detailed and interactive maps of the human body and its systems. The website was created by a team of scientists and researchers.
Zygote Body
Zygote Body is an anatomy learning tool that allows you to manipulate a virtual human body and highlight various parts of human body systems.
more...less...
Please note that functionality is limited on the free version of the program.