Additional Resources - EN111 - College Composition II (Reacting to the Past) - LibGuides at Central Methodist University

Library Databases

Central Search by EBSCO
Central Search by EBSCO is a one stop shop for searching almost all library and database content. Uses simple searching and full-text linking to get you to resources faster!
Credo Reference
An innovative databases of major reference works, complete with keyword subject, and visual searching. Contains over 395 titles full-text consisting of an aggregate of 3.2 million entries all interconnected by millions of links.
JSTOR
One of the largest databases in the world, JSTOR includes a collection of full-text scholarly journals across multiple disciplines, multimedia including images and audio, and primary sources.
Films on Demand
Outstanding content from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Programs from more than 700 producers are included.

Fifty Years of Ms.

50 Years of Ms. by Katherine Spillar A celebration of Ms. - the most startling, most audacious, most norm-breaking of the magazine’s groundbreaking pieces on women, men, politics (sexual and otherwise), marriage, family, education, work, motherhood, and reproductive rights, as well as the best of the magazine’s fiction, poetry, and letters. • Featuring Billie Jean King, Alison Bechdel, and Audre Lorde, among many others.
Call Number: Libby Audiobook
Publication Date: 2023

History of Ms. Magazine
Read more about the history of Ms. from their website.

The NYTimes & The Athletic

Smiley Memorial Library is proud to offer digital access to premier news and sports journalism for all CMU students and faculty. Use your current CMU email address to register.

Online Resources for Finding Full Text Periodicals and Magazines

Feminist
Part of the JSTOR's Independent Voices collection, this is a selection of alternative press magazines, newspapers, and other media addressing feminism and the feminist movement.
Google Magazines
Google has a collection of digitized magazines available through Google Books. Journal titles are list alphabetically. To view all digitized issues of the title, click "Browse all issues."
LIFE Magazine Archive
An archive of past issues of LIFE magazine are available online through Google Scholar (Years: 1936-1972)
The Magazine Rack
The Magazine Rack is an online collection of digitized magazines and periodicals offered by the Internet Archive.
Past Issues of New York Magazine
Google Books offers digitized issues of New York Magazine from the years 1965, 1970, 1975, 1980, 1985,1990, and 1995
TIME Magazine Vault
The TIME Magazine Vault is an online digital archive of back issues of the publication (Years: 1923-2023).

Live Chat with a Librarian

The Stacks

The Stacks house the Library's bound periodicals and retired reference books. Periodicals are publications, such as magazines and journals, released weekly, monthly, biannually, etc. The Library has several magazine titles that could be relevant to this class, such as Good Housekeeping and Ms. Magazine. Check our Library catalog to see what's available! Access to the Stacks is restricted to Library staff only, but stop by the front desk and let us know if you would like to view a title!

EN111 - College Composition II (Reacting to the Past): Additional Resources

Library Databases

Fifty Years of Ms.

The NYTimes & The Athletic

Online Resources for Finding Full Text Periodicals and Magazines

Live Chat with a Librarian

The Stacks

The Stacks

Smiley Memorial Library