LibGuides: Communication Subject Guide: Home

Welcome

Welcome!

This Communication Subject Guide is designed to help you find scholarly and non-scholarly resources in the discipline. The guide can be navigated from the tabs above or the "Next" and "Previous" navigation buttons below.

In This Guide

Databases This page includes links to relevant library databases.
Books This page discusses how to find books, eBooks, and audiobooks through the Library. Included is a Featured Books gallery that lists a collection of titles relevant to communication.
Online Resources This page includes links to relevant free web resources.
Evaluating Sources Clicking this tab will take you to a page in our Introduction to Research Skills guide which discusses how to evaluate sources.
Contact Us This page includes contact information for the Library and a guide to navigating the Library building.

Browse Other Guides

Browse Topics in Media & Communications

Browse Media & Communications Topics

Credo Reference offers a list of topics relating to communications. See Browse Topics: Media Communications.

Decorative animated image of a man giving a presentation to coworkers

Image by storyset on Freepik

Citation Manuals

APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style (7th Edition) by American Psychological Association Print editions of the APA Publication Manual are available in the library, both in the reference collection and in the course reserves.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832178
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

APA Style Provided by the American Psychological Association, APA Style provides an overview of content covered in the APA Manual of Style. Under the "Instructional Aids" tab, you can also find checklists, sample papers, posters, and much more.
Purdue OWL - APA Formatting and Style Guide (7th Edition) Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is one of the most commonly used (and well-known) online citation guides available. Purdue OWL provides a basic overview of APA style and formatting, offering example reference entries and in-text citations in a variety of formats. Additional resources, such as sample papers and PowerPoint presentations, are also available.
Excelsior OWL - APA Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed and interactive guide to APA style and formatting. Example APA in-text citations and references are offered for works in a variety of formats. Also available are sample papers, essay templates, interactive activities, and side by side comparisons of reference, parenthetical, and narrative citations.

MLA Style

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America Copies of the MLA Handbook are available for use within the Library.
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

Purdue OWL - MLA Style Introduction Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is one of the most commonly used (and well-known) online citation guides available. Purdue OWL provides a basic overview of MLA style and formatting, offering example works cited entries and in-text citations in a variety of formats. Additional resources, such as sample papers and PowerPoint presentations, are also available.
MLA Style Center MLA Style Center is a free online resource offered by the Modern Language Association. Included in the website are Works Cited quick guides, an interactive practice template, and much more.
Excelsior OWL - MLA Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed and interactive guide to MLA style and formatting. Example MLA in-text citations and works cited entries are offered for works in a variety of formats. Also available are sample papers, essay templates, and interactive activities.

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff Smiley Memorial Library has print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style available on reserve and in the reference collection.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Online Resources

Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style Online offers many resources that can assist users in learning and using the Style guidelines. Beneficial pages to check out are the Citation Quick Guide and the Student Resources.
Purdue OWL's Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a guide to the Chicago Manual of Style and includes several resources, such as a sample paper and citation guide.
Excelsior OWL - Chicago Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed guide to Chicago style and formatting. Example Chicago in-text citations and works cited entries are provided, along with a Chicago essay template.

Featured eReference Books

SAGE Encyclopedia of Journalism Jacket Cover

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Journalism

Editor(s): Gregory A. Borchard
Publisher: Sage Publications

Keywords for Media Studies

Editor(s): Laurie Ouellette, Jonathan Gray
Publisher: New York University Press

Dictionary of Media & Communication Studies

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies

Author(s): James Watson, Anne Hill
Publisher: Bloomsbury

Key Concepts in Media and Communications Jacket Cover

SAGE Key Concepts series: Key Concepts in Media and Communications

Author(s): Paul Jones, David Holmes
Publisher: Sage UK

Free Access to The NYTimes

Smiley Memorial Library is proud to offer free digital access to the New York Times for all CMU students and faculty. Register now for The New York Times using your current CMU email address.