LibGuides: Communication Subject Guide: Online Resources

Online Resources

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that conducts public opinion polling and demographics research.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Based out of the University of Pennsylvania, the Annenberg Public Policy Center focuses on research, conferences, and policy discussions about the role of communications in important areas of society, such as politics, child development, health care, and more. The Annenberg Public Policy Center is notably the creator of FactCheck.org. The website includes research findings articles, videos, press releases, journal articles, and related resources.

The Journalist's Toolbox
The Journalist's Toolbox is a website hosted by the Society of Professional Journalists that provides students, teachers, and journalists with resources relating to editing, reporting, and verifying information. Content in the Toolbox is licensed under a CC BY-SA 4.0 Creative Commons license.
Journalist's Resources
Built by the esteemed Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy, this provides a digest of research concerning contemporary issues and questions. A great place to start your research!
U of Iowa: Journalism and Mass Communications Resources
Designed for journalism professionals and journalism students by the faculty of the University of Iowa, this is a roundup of news sources, citation guides, and networking groups.

Federal Communications Commission
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is the federal agency responsible for regulating "interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories" (from website). Included on the FCC's website are reports, news headlines, event information, and more.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
A partnership between WGBH and the Library of Congress, the American Archive is a digital archives project intended to preserve and provide access to public broadcasting and media.
Wayback Machine
The Internet Archive's Wayback Machine allows you to search through its collection of over 866 billion web pages. All you need to do is enter a URL or search keywords! To try it out, take a look at CMU's website in 2004!