LibGuides: English Subject Guide: Home

Welcome!

This English Subject Guide is designed to help you find scholarly and non-scholarly resources relating to English, grammar, literature, composition, and related topics. This guide can be navigated from the tabs above or the "Next" and "Previous" navigation buttons at the bottom of the screen.

In This Guide

Books This page discusses how to find books, eBooks, and audiobooks through the Library. Included is a Featured Books gallery that lists a collection of titles relevant to English, composition, literature, grammar, and related fields.
Databases This page includes links to relevant library databases.
Online Resources This page includes links to relevant webpages, data sources, professional organizations, and etcetera.
Evaluating Sources 🔗 Clicking this tab will redirect you to a page in our Introduction to Research Skills guide which discusses how to evaluate sources.
Contact Us This page includes contact information for the Library and a guide to navigating the Library building.

Featured eReference Titles

A History of English

Author(s): Steven Roger Fischer
Publisher: Reaktion Books

The Handy English Grammar Answer Book

Author(s): Christine A. Hult
Publisher: Visible Ink Press

Encyclopedia of African-American Writing

Editor(s): Shari Dorantes Hatch
Publisher: Grey House Publishing

Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms

Editor(s): Margaretta Jolly
Publisher: Routledge

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols

Author(s): Michael Ferber
Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Chamber Dictionary of Literary Characters

Editor(s): Una McGovern
Publisher: Chambers Harrap

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English

Editor(s): Ian Ousby
Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Browse English Topics

Credo Reference has a "Browse Topics" feature with several categories relating to English and literature. Entries are arranged alphabetically, making it easy for you to quickly browse for more information on topics, events, theories, ideas, or people.

Citing Sources

Citations and Reference Resources

Manuals of Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style (7th Edition) by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832178
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Print editions of the APA Publication Manual are available in the library, both in the reference collection and in the course reserves.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America Copies of the MLA Handbook are available for use within the Library.
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

Purdue OWL
Excelsior OWL - Citation and Documentation
MLA Style Center
APA Style
Smiley Memorial Library - Citing Sources Guide

Zotero

Zotero is a free online tool available for you to collect, organize, and manage citation information for your research sources. Zotero is available through a web browser, or you can download an app for your iPad. Visit Zotero.org to get started or visit the Smiley Memorial Library Managing Sources with Zotero guide for more information.

Other Resources

View our Cite Your Sources guide for more information on citing research sources.

Keep Up on the News with The New York Times

The New York Times Arts section offers current news on books and best sellers. Check it out today! Do you still need to register for your free account? Visit The New York Times section of the main Smiley Memorial Library webpage to learn more!

Read The New York Times's Book Review
Keep up with The New York Times Bestseller List