LibGuides: Welcome to Smiley Memorial Library: Databases

General and Reference Databases

Searching Skills - Central Search Quick Reference Guide This two-page handout introduces database search structure and acts as a quick reference guide to the limiters, links, and tools embedded in Central Search

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting your research with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other excellent tertiary sources. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

NYTimes & The Athletic

Smiley Memorial Library is proud to offer digital access to premier news and sports journalism for all CMU students and faculty. Use your current CMU email address to register.

Subject Databases and Newspapers

These databases are specific to particular subjects or disciplines. These can be more helpful if you need more complex, advanced, or detailed information in a chosen field of study.

Academic Search Complete
Our largest interdisciplinary database, containing full text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines. This database makes up the core of Central Search.
BioOne Complete
A database containing a unique set of high impact bioscience journals. All content is full-text.
Business Source Elite
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
CINAHL Ultimate
A database of Nursing and Allied Health Literature provided by EBSCO. Some of the article indexed are full-text.
Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Criminal Justice Abstracts w/ Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts is the leading full-text database for criminal justice research. It offers an essential collection of journals for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Ebook Collection Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks that are owned will be available to the library in perpetuity, with provisions being made for long term access and preservation. eBooks available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines.
Education Full-Text
This full-text database covers key areas of education and related fields of study. Education Full Text is an essential source for education research and is ideal for education students, professionals and policy makers.
ERIC
Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Films on Demand
Outstanding content from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Programs from more than 700 producers are included.
FMG Archival Films and Newsreels Collection
A subset of Films on Demand which includes historic film reels and digitized archival films.
Forensic Science
Electronic, fully searchable access to Salem Science reference works on Forensic Science.
HeritageQuest Online
A comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s.
ICE Learning Center Video Library (International Clinical Educators Inc.)
Innovative streaming video collections, of real patients and therapists, created to inspire clinical excellence for faculty, students and clinicians in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.
IPA Source
Catalog of International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions of musical works-- at over 15,000, the world's largest!
JSTOR
One of the largest databases in the world, JSTOR includes a collection of full-text scholarly journals across multiple disciplines, multimedia including images and audio, and primary sources.
Learning Express Library
Learning Express is a practice test service that provides immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
Magill's Literary Annuals
Collections of book reviews and supplemental materials organized by year.
MasterFILE Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Missouri Historical Newspapers
The State Historical Society of Missouri provides digital access to over 100 19th and early 20th century newspapers from all over Missouri. Search by title, town, or county.
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century
An electronic reference set, fully searchable and full-text, containing wide coverage of musicians and composers from the last 100 years.
Naxos Music Library
This collection is over 400,000 music file, available for streaming through your PC using a built in music player. Users can also create shareable playlists and access supporting documentation. Classical, folk, spoken word and popular music are all included in this database.
New Play Exchange
Over 45,000 new drama by over 10,000 living playwrights-- the world's largest! Please contact Library staff for username and password to access.
Nexis Uni
(formerly Lexis-Nexis University) Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
PsycINFO
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Open Access, scholarly science content, curated for modern researchers and students. Includes content from biology, chemistry, environmental science, and more.
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Welcome to Smiley Memorial Library: Databases

General and Reference Databases

Central Search by EBSCO

NYTimes & The Athletic

Subject Databases and Newspapers

Smiley Memorial Library