LibGuides: Welcome to Smiley Memorial Library: Books

"I just want a book..."

Can't find what you need? Try MOBIUS!

MOBIUS is a giant catalog, containing millions of items from over 70 libraries across the American Midwest. You can use MOBIUS to request books from other libraries-- they'll be sent to Smiley Memorial Library for you to pick up. Delivery usually takes 3-5 business days.

Interlibrary Loan Form

Interlibrary Loan
If you cannot find the item you need in either our catalog or databases, you can place an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request directly with the Library. Delivery of articles usually takes 2-4 business days; delivery of books usually takes 7-10 business days.

To learn more about ILL, see our Using Interlibrary Loan guide.

Using the Library Catalog

eBooks & Audiobooks

Borrow eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines to read right on your phone or CMU iPad.

Go to libbyapp.com/library/mobius to set up your CMU access.

Use the Libby app for iPad and iOS for the best experience.

If we do not have a book you'd like on eBook or Audio, send us a quick note here.

Finding materials

Smiley Memorial Library has a collection of over 50,000 books, spread out over two floors.

2nd Floor Info Commons

Graphic Novels
Local and University History
Popular Fiction
Popular Nonfiction
Young Adult Literature
Ready Reference (these do not circulate-- but please feel free to scan as many pages as you want!)

3rd Floor

Children's Literature
Circulating Reference
General Collection (includes fiction and nonfiction)

Getting Around the Library

Cupples Hall is over 120 years old. It has two sections, four floors, and a lot of history. Here's how you find things.

Regular Building	Old Stacks (Library staff only)
First Floor (*below* the Library lobby) Center for Learning and Teaching Technology Services	First Floor Old Stacks Bound Periodicals (alphabetically by title): Sc-Z
Second Floor Library lobby (Circulation Desk) DVDs Books Graphic Novels (Library of Congress call #s, e.g. "D810.J4 S643 1992" for Maus) Local and University History (Library of Congress call #s) Contemporary Fiction (Library of Congress call #s) Contemporary Nonfiction (Library of Congress call #s) Young Adult (Call #s by author last name, e.g. "Rot dive" for Divergent) Information Commons Digital U Information Commons Classroom (behind Digital U) Writing Center	Second Floor Old Stacks Bound Periodicals: L-Sa Third Floor Old Stacks Bound Periodicals: E-K
Third Floor Books Children's Literature (DDC call #s, e.g. "813 P637" for the Captain Underpants books) Circulating Reference (Library of Congress call #s) General Collection (Library of Congress call #s) Global Engagement Offices ITV Offices Missouri Conference Methodist Archives Radio Station Study Rooms	Fourth Floor Old Stacks Bound Periodicals: A-D
Fourth Floor English Faculty offices Philosophy and Religion Faculty offices	Fifth Floor Old Stacks Missouri Conference Methodist Archives University Archives

Regular Building

Old Stacks

(Library staff only)

First Floor (below the Library lobby)

Center for Learning and Teaching
Technology Services

First Floor Old Stacks

Bound Periodicals (alphabetically by title): Sc-Z

Second Floor

Library lobby (Circulation Desk)
- DVDs
Books
- Graphic Novels (Library of Congress call #s, e.g. "D810.J4 S643 1992" for Maus)
- Local and University History (Library of Congress call #s)
- Contemporary Fiction (Library of Congress call #s)
- Contemporary Nonfiction (Library of Congress call #s)
- Young Adult (Call #s by author last name, e.g. "Rot dive" for Divergent)
Information Commons
- Digital U
  - Information Commons Classroom (behind Digital U)
- Writing Center

Second Floor Old Stacks

Bound Periodicals: L-Sa

Third Floor Old Stacks

Bound Periodicals: E-K

Third Floor

Books
- Children's Literature (DDC call #s, e.g. "813 P637" for the Captain Underpants books)
- Circulating Reference (Library of Congress call #s)
- General Collection (Library of Congress call #s)
Global Engagement Offices
ITV Offices
Missouri Conference Methodist Archives
Radio Station
Study Rooms

Fourth Floor Old Stacks

Bound Periodicals: A-D

Fourth Floor

English Faculty offices
Philosophy and Religion Faculty offices

Fifth Floor Old Stacks

Missouri Conference Methodist Archives
University Archives

Welcome to Smiley Memorial Library: Books