LibGuides: OTA Subject Guide: Books

Library Catalogs

Can't find what you need? Try MOBIUS!

MOBIUS is a giant catalog, containing millions of items from over 70 libraries across the American Midwest. You can use MOBIUS to request books from other libraries-- they'll be sent to Smiley Memorial Library for you to pick up. Delivery usually takes 3-5 business days.

EBSCO eBook Collection

Did you know that Central Methodist University students, faculty, and staff have access to eBook titles through EBSCO eBook Collection? This digital collection is accessible through both Central Search and the dedicated eBook Collection interface, linked below. Content represents a mix of both scholarly and popular materials.

Ebook Collection Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription. eBooks that are owned will be available to the library in perpetuity, with provisions being made for long term access and preservation. eBooks available via subscription are renewed annually for the library to retain access. EBSCO eBooks are available from all major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines.

Magill's Medical Guide

Magill's Medical Guide, 8th Edition
A definitive reference for all things medical-- including allied health-- this is a keyword-searchable reference for information on human anatomy and pharmacology.

What is a Library Catalog?

Library Catalog vs. Library Database: What's the Difference?

A library catalog allows you to search for resources owned by the library, such as print books, eBooks, DVDs, bound periodicals, and etc. Library catalogs will include publication information, along with a link or a call number that can be used to locate the item. Library catalogs are the best places to search when trying to find a book to check out.

Library databases index digital resources that the library has subscribed to. Full text digital access will be offered for many, but not all, of the resources found in a library database. Those that are not available in full text can be requested through interlibrary loan.

OTA Course Reserves

CMU's OTA program has a large collection of textbooks set aside in the library on course reserve. See OTA Permanent Reserve in the Smiley Memorial Library Catalog to browse available titles.

Libby and Interlibrary Loan

Looking for eBooks or Audiobooks?

Borrow eBooks and audiobooks to your phone or CMU iPad using Libby. Go to libbyapp.com/library/mobius to set up your CMU access. Use the Libby app for iPad and iOS for the best experience. If we do not have a book you'd like on eBook or Audio, send us a quick note here.

Interlibrary Loan in all capital letters and dark green font

Still Cannot Find What You Are Looking For?

If you cannot find the item you need in either our catalog or databases, you can place an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request directly with the Library. Delivery of articles usually takes 3 business days; delivery of books usually takes at least 7 business days.