LibGuides: Sociology Subject Guide: Home

About This Guide

Welcome!

This Sociology Subject Guide is designed to help you find scholarly and non-scholarly resources relating to sociology, sociological research, and related topics. The guide can be navigated from the tabs at the top of the screen or from the "Next" and "Previous" navigation buttons at the bottom of the screen.

In This Guide

Books This page discusses how to find books, eBooks, and audiobooks through the Library. Included is a Featured Books gallery that lists a collection of titles relevant to sociological subjects and study.
Databases This page includes links to relevant library databases.
Online Resources This page includes links to relevant webpages, data sources, professional organizations, and etcetera.
Evaluating Sources 🔗 Clicking this tab will take you to a page in our Introduction to Research Skills guide which discusses how to evaluate sources.
Contact Us This page includes contact information for the Library and a guide to navigating the Library building.

Browse Topics in Sociology

Browse Sociology Topics

Credo Reference has a "Browse Topics" feature with several categories relating to sociology. Entries are arranged alphabetically, making it easy for you to quickly browse for more information on topics, events, theories, or people.

Featured E-Reference Books

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology

Editor(s): Bryan S. Turner

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

Editor(s): Patrick L. Mason

Publisher: Gale

The SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion

Editor(s): Anthony J. Blasi, Adam Possamai

Publisher: Sage UK

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies

Editor(s): Constance L. Shehan

Publisher: Wiley

Basic Research Method: An Entry to Social Science Research

Author(s): David Guthrie

Publisher: Sage

Citing Sources

Citations and Reference Resources

APA Manual of Style

APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832178
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Located on the course reserves shelf behind the front desk.

Online Resources

Zotero

Zotero is a free online tool available for you to collect, organize, and manage citation information for your research sources. Zotero is available through a web browser, or you can download an app for your iPad. Visit Zotero.org to get started or visit the Smiley Memorial Library Managing Sources with Zotero guide for more information.

Other Resources

View our Cite Your Sources guide for more information on citing research sources.

Credit: Dr. Matthias Ripp | Flikr | CC BY 2.0 Deed