LibGuides: Business Subject Guide: Home

Welcome

Welcome!

This Business Subject Guide is designed to help you find scholarly and non-scholarly resources relating to business, marketing, accounting, economics, and related topics. The guide can be navigated from the tabs above or the "Next" and "Previous" navigation buttons below.

In This Guide

Databases This page includes links to relevant library databases.
Books This page discusses how to find books, eBooks, and audiobooks through the Library. Included is a Featured Books gallery that lists a collection of titles relevant to business and economics.
Online Resources This page includes links to relevant webpages, data sources, professional organizations, and etcetera.
Evaluating Sources 🔗 Clicking this tab will redirect you to a page in our Introduction to Research Skills guide which discusses how to evaluate sources.
Contact Us This page includes contact information for the Library and a guide to navigating the Library building.

Browse Smiley Memorial Library Subject Guides

Browse Topics in Business

Browse Business, Finance, and Economics Topics

Credo Reference offers a list of topics relating to business. See Browse Topics: Business, Finance, and Economics.

Featured eReference Books

The Handy Accounting Answer Book

Author(s): Amber K. Gray
Publisher: Visible Ink Press

Great Economic Thinkers: An Introduction from Adam Smith to Amartya Sen

Editor(s): Jonathan Conlin
Publisher: Reaktion Books

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History

Editor(s): Thomas Riggs
Publisher: Gale

Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Management Book

Author(s): Martin Manser, Norma Barry, Nigel Cumberland
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Exploring Universal Basic Income: A Guide to Navigating Concepts, Evidence, and Practices

Editor(s): World Bank Group
Publisher: World Bank

Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Economics Book

Publisher: Dorling Kindersley Publishing, Inc.

An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics

Editor(s): Thomas Cate
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing

Corporate Governance in the Aftermath of the Global Financial Crisis

Author(s): Zabihollah Rezaee
Publisher: Business Expert Press

The Wall Street Journal

Did you know that the Library has The Wall Street Journal? Copies of the Journal (published in the last two months) are kept on the second floor of the Library by the Writing Center.

Banner reading "Looking for a place to Start Your Research?" To the right is a start banner and checkered line icon.

Please see Frequently Asked Questions about Library Databases for more information on Central Search and other library databases. (Start banner image courtesy of brgfx on Freepik)

What is Central Search?

Central Search is CMU's general-use database that compiles results from the library catalog and most of the subject-specific databases to which Smiley Memorial Library subscribes. In the massive Central Search collection, you can find academic peer-reviewed journals, eBooks, books, trade journals, newspaper articles, magazines, online resources, and more. It is your one-stop shop for most of your research needs! Please see Frequently Asked Questions about Library Databases for more information on Central Search and other library databases.

Citation Manuals

APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style (7th Edition) by American Psychological Association Print editions of the APA Publication Manual are available in the library, both in the reference collection and in the course reserves.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832178
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

APA Style Provided by the American Psychological Association, APA Style provides an overview of content covered in the APA Manual of Style. Under the "Instructional Aids" tab, you can also find checklists, sample papers, posters, and much more.
Purdue OWL - APA Formatting and Style Guide (7th Edition) Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is one of the most commonly used (and well-known) online citation guides available. Purdue OWL provides a basic overview of APA style and formatting, offering example reference entries and in-text citations in a variety of formats. Additional resources, such as sample papers and PowerPoint presentations, are also available.
Excelsior OWL - APA Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed and interactive guide to APA style and formatting. Example APA in-text citations and references are offered for works in a variety of formats. Also available are sample papers, essay templates, interactive activities, and side by side comparisons of reference, parenthetical, and narrative citations.

MLA Style

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America Copies of the MLA Handbook are available for use within the Library.
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
APA/MLA Guidelines - 7th/9th Editions Style Reference for Writing by Kaitlyn McNamee MA
ISBN: 9781423248354
Publication Date: 2022-05-01

Online Resources

Purdue OWL - MLA Style Introduction Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is one of the most commonly used (and well-known) online citation guides available. Purdue OWL provides a basic overview of MLA style and formatting, offering example works cited entries and in-text citations in a variety of formats. Additional resources, such as sample papers and PowerPoint presentations, are also available.
MLA Style Center MLA Style Center is a free online resource offered by the Modern Language Association. Included in the website are Works Cited quick guides, an interactive practice template, and much more.
Excelsior OWL - MLA Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed and interactive guide to MLA style and formatting. Example MLA in-text citations and works cited entries are offered for works in a variety of formats. Also available are sample papers, essay templates, and interactive activities.

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff Smiley Memorial Library has print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style available on reserve and in the reference collection.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Online Resources

Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style Online offers many resources that can assist users in learning and using the Style guidelines. Beneficial pages to check out are the Citation Quick Guide and the Student Resources.
Purdue OWL's Guide to the Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a guide to the Chicago Manual of Style and includes several resources, such as a sample paper and citation guide.
Excelsior OWL - Chicago Style Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed guide to Chicago style and formatting. Example Chicago in-text citations and works cited entries are provided, along with a Chicago essay template.

Image of two business people shaking hands

Image by rawpixel.com on Freepik

Business Subject Guide: Home

Welcome

Welcome!

In This Guide

Browse Smiley Memorial Library Subject Guides

Browse Topics in Business

Browse Business, Finance, and Economics Topics

Featured eReference Books

The Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal

🚩Start Here 🚩

Central Search by EBSCO

What is Central Search?

Citation Manuals

APA Style

Online Resources

MLA Style

Online Resources

Chicago Manual of Style

Online Resources

Smiley Memorial Library