LibGuides: History Subject Guide: Databases

Featured Databases

Academic Search Complete
Our largest interdisciplinary database, containing full text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines. This database makes up the core of Central Search.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR
One of the largest databases in the world, JSTOR includes a collection of full-text scholarly journals across multiple disciplines, multimedia including images and audio, and primary sources.
Nexis Uni
(formerly Lexis-Nexis University) Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels
Films On Demand offers a collection of over 1,000 archival films and newsreels. The collection can be filters by time period and subject.
Films on Demand - History
Films On Demand offers over 4,000 videos indexed under the subject of history. News clips, full-length documentaries, television episodes, and much more are included.

ILL Request

Can't Find the Article You Are Looking For?

If you cannot find the item you need in either our catalog or databases, you can place an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request directly with the Library. Delivery of articles usually takes 3 business days; delivery of books usually takes at least 7 business days.

Go to InterLibrary Loan Form

General and Reference Databases

Searching Skills - Central Search Quick Reference Guide This two-page handout introduces database search structure and acts as a quick reference guide to the limiters, links, and tools embedded in Central Search

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting your research with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other excellent tertiary sources. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Database Help

Need Tips on How to Search Library Databases?

Are you not sure where or how to start searching library databases? Check out our Introduction to Research Skills guide's Form a Search Strategy and Search Tips pages. As always, you can also reach out to a librarian for assistance.

Black and white photograph of Civil rights leaders talking after meeting with President John F. Kennedy. Martin Luther King Jr. is pictured in the photograph.

Civil rights leaders talk with reporters after meeting with President John F. Kennedy after the March on Washington, D.C. (Source: Library of Congress)

History Subject Guide: Databases

Featured Databases

Featured Databases

ILL Request

Can't Find the Article You Are Looking For?

General and Reference Databases

Central Search by EBSCO

Database Help

Need Tips on How to Search Library Databases?

Smiley Memorial Library