Smithsonian Institute: History and Culture
: The world's largest museum, education, and research complex, the Smithsonian's venerable history collection includes videos and articles for a popular audience.
U.S. National Archives (NARA): Keeper of the records of the United States, NARA's website contains resources on government records – including veterans' and military service members' records – as well as resources for educators. Below are two notable collections from NARA.
History.com: The website presence of the very popular and influential A+E television network. Includes articles and videos for a popular audience.
Google Arts & Culture - Learning about History: Google Arts and Culture is a initiative between Google and cultural heritage institutions to provide preserve and provide access to art and cultural artifacts. The "Learning about History" page provides easy browsing of digital exhibits, spotlights, images, collections, and more. Google Arts & Culture also offers virtual tours of museums and historic landmarks.
Constitution of the United States of America
Washington's Farewell Address: September 17, 1796
The Federalist Papers : October 1787 - May 1788
The Pentagon Papers: 1969
Women at work on bomber, Douglas Aircraft Company, Long Beach, Calif. (Source: Library of Congress)
Digital Public Library of America: Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is digital library that compiles digitized library, museum, and archival resources in one easy-to-browse website. Browse by topic or partner and search through primary source sets and exhibitions.
HathiTrust: HathiTrust is a "digital library" which preserves 18+ Million historical books, pamphlets, sheet music, and other publications. HathiTrust hosts many digital collections that can be beneficial for historical research, a handful of which are listed below.
Internet Archive : Internet Archive is an online digital library preserving web pages, books, audio files, videos, images, software programs, and much more. Internet Archive's Wayback Machine allows you to view archived versions of webpages (Check out an archived version of CMU's website from August 2004!).
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Chronicling America is a digital collection of historic American newspapers hosted by the Library of Congress. The publication dates of newspapers in the collection range from 1756-1963. The collection is searchable by state, publication date, and keyword(s).
Missouri Historical Newspapers: The State Historical Society of Missouri provides digital access to over one hundred 19th and early 20th century newspapers from all over Missouri. Search by title, town, or county.
State Historical Society of Missouri Digital Collections: The State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSMO) offers several digital archival collections focusing on the history of the state of Missouri.
CMU Archives and Special Collections: CMU's Archives and Special Collections offers several digital collections and exhibits. Included in the digital collections are digitized Ragouts (1902-1950), photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, and other archival documents.
Library of Congress Digital Collections: A wealth of digitized material from the Library of Congress. Includes newspapers, photographs, manuscripts (yes, primary sources!), audio, and video.
Google Arts and Culture: Google Arts and Culture is a initiative between Google and cultural heritage institutions to provide preserve and provide access to art and cultural artifacts. Google Arts and Culture is a great resources for finding images of historical figures and events.
660-248-6271
library@centralmethodist.edu