LibGuides: Music and Theatre Subject Guide: Databases

Specific Databases

Music & Theatre Specific Databases

IPA Source
Catalog of International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions of musical works-- at over 15,000, the world's largest!
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century
An electronic reference set, fully searchable and full-text, containing wide coverage of musicians and composers from the last 100 years.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
Naxos Music Library
This collection is over 400,000 music file, available for streaming through your PC using a built in music player. Users can also create shareable playlists and access supporting documentation. Classical, folk, spoken word and popular music are all included in this database.
New Play Exchange
Over 45,000 new drama by over 10,000 living playwrights-- the world's largest! Please contact Library staff for username and password to access.

Education Databases

Focusing on Music or Theatre Education?

Education Full-Text
This full-text database covers key areas of education and related fields of study. Education Full Text is an essential source for education research and is ideal for education students, professionals and policy makers.
ERIC
Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

ILL Request

Can't Find the Article You Are Looking For?

If you cannot find the item you need in either our catalog or databases, you can place an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request directly with the Library. Delivery of articles usually takes 3 business days; delivery of books usually takes at least 7 business days.

Go to InterLibrary Loan Form

General and Reference Databases

Searching Skills - Central Search Quick Reference Guide This two-page handout introduces database search structure and acts as a quick reference guide to the limiters, links, and tools embedded in Central Search

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting your research with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other excellent tertiary sources. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

The NYTimes & The Athletic

Smiley Memorial Library is proud to offer digital access to premier news and sports journalism for all CMU students and faculty. Use your current CMU email address to register.

Films on Demand

CMU students, faculty, and staff have access to Films on Demand, a database collection of videos, full length documentaries, news clips, and segments. Choose one of the topic options below to start exploring.

Music and Theatre Subject Guide: Databases

Specific Databases

Music & Theatre Specific Databases

Education Databases

Focusing on Music or Theatre Education?

ILL Request

Can't Find the Article You Are Looking For?

General and Reference Databases

Central Search by EBSCO

The NYTimes & The Athletic

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

Smiley Memorial Library