Google Arts & Culture: Google Arts & Culture is non-commercial project comprising a partnership between Google and over 2,000 galleries, museums, archives, and other cultural heritage institutions. The project offers a wealth of resources – such as images, videos, exhibits, virtual 360 degree tours, and AI-assisted learning tools – which address topics relating to culture and art.
HathiTrust
: HathiTrust is a "digital library" which preserves 18+ Million historical books, pamphlets, sheet music, and other publications. HathiTrust hosts many digital collections that contain items relevant to music and theatre (See the University of Michigan's Women Composers Collection as an example). Use the Advanced Search feature to filter by your search format.
Carnegie Hall - Resources for Music Educators: Carnegie Hall offers a collection of free videos and online resources for music educators. Resources are categorized by grade (K-12 or 6-12) or by professional development.
International Music Score Library (IMSLP, Petrucci Library): Wiki of public domain music scores from around the world-- over 200,000 works available!
Sheet Music Consortium: A collection of scanned, digitized sheet music from repositories around the world.
The Playbill Vault: The Playbill Vault includes digital copies of past Playbills, starting with the 1946-1947 season.
Internet Off-Broadway Database (Formerly Lortel Archives): The Internet Off-Broadway Database offers a complete catalog of every show produced off-Broadway.
The Dramatists Guild Foundation - Legacy Project : The Legacy Project includes interviews with current and established theatre writers about their creative process.
Internet Broadway Database: Searchable listing of all the shows, performers, and theatres on Broadway-- both today and yesterday.
Lyceum Theatre, Theater District, Manhattan, New York, New York, United States (Credit: Billy Wilson | Flickr | CC BY-NC 2.0 DEED)
Archives of African American Music and Culture: A rich, in-depth repository of multimedia built by Indiana University. Includes photos, documents, audio, and video.
Library of Congress Performing Arts Digital Collections: The Library of Congress offers over 108 digital collections relating to the performing arts. A handful of the collections and relevant divisions are highlighted below.
: This digital collection from the Library of Congress provides digital access to over 600 audio recordings and transcribed print materials created by folklorist John Lomax and his wife, Ruby, on a 1939 trip across the American south to record and preserve traditional American folk music.: This digital collection includes 341 motion pictures, 81 sound recordings, and other materials relating to the Edison Companies and Thomas Edison's impact on the entertainment industry.: Thousands of materials, including sheet music, manuscripts, audio, and video.Lomax Digital Archive : The Lomax Digital Archive (LDA), in partnership with the Library of Congress's Folklife Center, offers free digital access to the audio/visual collections of Alan Lomax and his father, John Lomax. The Lomax family were pioneering musicologists and folklorists who worked to preserve American folk music. The digital archival collection is browseable by instrument, location, genre, and etcetera.
660-248-6271
library@centralmethodist.edu