Smiley Memorial Library is located in Cupples Hall on Central Methodist University's Fayette campus. Cupples Hall was originally constructed in 1899 as a men's dormitory but was renovated in 1928 and converted into the campus library. Prior to this renovation, the campus library had been located in Science Hall (now called T. Berry Smith Hall).
Cupples Hall, located next to Stedman Hall of Science, houses Smiley Memorial Library, faculty offices for the Humanities department, and other offices offering academic and technological support. The Smiley Memorial Library collection is contained on the second and third floors of the Cupples Hall building.
|
Regular Building |
Old Stacks (Library staff only) |
|---|---|
|
First Floor (below the Library lobby)
|
First Floor Old Stacks
|
|
Second Floor
|
Second Floor Old Stacks
Third Floor Old Stacks
|
|
Third Floor
|
Fourth Floor Old Stacks
|
|
Fourth Floor
|
Fifth Floor Old Stacks
|
The 1st floor of Cupples Hall houses the Center for Learning and Teaching (CLT). The CLT provides resources to support student academic goals and success. The CLT is where you will go to clock study hall hours, make up exams, visit a tutor, and much more. Visit the Center for Learning and Teaching's page of the CMU website for more information.
Technology Services is located on the first floor of Cupples Hall. Entering the first floor from the stairs, Tech Services will be behind the glass doors to your left.
The second floor of Cupples Hall house Smiley Memorial Library, DigitalU, and the CMU Writing Center.
The circulation desk is one of the first sites you will see when entering the Library from the main entrance. The circulation desk is where you will go to check out library materials, ask research/library questions, and etc. Library staff members at the circulation desk will be more than happy to answer any questions that you have! Not far from the circulation desk is the coffee bar. Coffee is only $0.50 a cup, so stop by to get your caffeine fix!
Next to the Circulation Desk is Smiley Memorial Library's activity room. This is an open space with lots of tables and seating, perfect for studying with friends! We also have puzzles, charging stations, board games, and other resources available in the activity room for student use. Interested in checking out DVDs of popular movies? We have that too! Check out our DVD collection in the activity room.
When you walk in to the Library using the main entrance, you can continue past the circulation desk and straight ahead down the ramp to visit the Information Commons. The Information Commons has computers, printers, study booths, tables, couches, and much more, making it a popular study space for students on campus. The Information Commons space also contains some of the Library's print collection. Books and resources located in the Information Commons include:
DigitalU is located on the second floor of Cupples Hall in the Information Commons. The DigitalU desk can be found in front of the blue DigitalU mural.
The CMU Writing Center is also located on the second floor of Cupples Hall in the Information Commons. To meet a Writing Center tutor for an appointment, visit the space near the green Writing Center mural (behind the newspaper shelves).
The third floor of Cupples Hall houses the bulk of the Smiley Memorial Library print collection, as well as the handful of student services offices and study spaces.
The largest portion of Smiley Memorial Library's collection is located on the third floor. On the third floor, you will find:
The third floor has tables, couches, and a couple of study rooms available for student use.
The Global Engagement Office is located on the third floor of Cupples Hall. When you exit the stairs on the third floor, you will take a right and the Global Engagement Office will be the first door to your right (noted by a sign in the window). Entering the third floor from the elevator, the Global Engagement Office will be the first office straight ahead.
Some counseling offices are located on the third floor of Cupples Hall.
The fourth floor of Cupples Hall houses offices for many faculty belonging to the Humanities Department (English, Literature, Religion, Philosophy, etc.).
Part of Cupples Hall, the "Old Stacks" is where Smiley Memorial Library houses bound periodicals and CMU's Archives and Special Collections. Compared to the rest of the building, the Old Stacks has five floors instead of four. Only Library staff are allowed in this space, but stop by the circulation desk if you need to view something from the Old Stacks and we would be more than happy to retrieve it for you.
660-248-6271
library@centralmethodist.edu