28 STEPS
1. Welcome! This tutorial will give you a quick tour of the Smiley Memorial Library website. You can find our website by clicking Library underneath the search bar on the home page of the CMU website.
2. That link takes you to the homepage of the Library's website. This page has important information, such as the Library's hours and contact information. (Click anywhere on the screen to continue)
3. Also on this page is information on upcoming library events.
4. Let's go ahead and check out the Library's databases. Click the Databases tab at the top of the screen to continue.
5. At the top of the page is Central Search, CMU's general-use database that compiles results from many of the Library's databases.
6. Note that you can limit your results to full-text and/or peer reviewed only.
7. Below Central Search is Credo, a reference database that is a great tool to use when conducting background research. Credo searches dictionaries, encyclopedias, and many other forms of reference sources.
8. CMU students and faculty also have access to The New York Times and The Athletic. All that you need to do to access these resources is register using your CMU email address.
9. To the right is a complete list of subject databases and newspaper sources.
10. CINAHL Ultimate, for example, is a subject database focusing on literature in the fields of Nursing and Allied health.
11. Education Full-Text and ERIC are databases geared toward Education and related fields.
12. JSTOR offers journals from several disciplines, but it is an especially great tool for research in the humanities.
13. What if your needing a book? Click the Books tab at the top of the screen.
14. The Smiley Memorial Library Catalog can be used to find DVDs, eBooks, course reserves, or print books in the Library.
15. If CMU does not have the book you are looking for, you can request it from another library. A great place to look is the MOBIUS Catalog. A book requested through MOBIUS can typically be delivered within a week's time.
16. If you are looking specifically for eBooks or audiobooks, download the Libby app! Libby is a digital library platform containing over 30,000 titles that can be borrowed by CMU students, faculty, and staff.
17. Click Distance Learners
18. This page has information and a number of resources that can be of benefit to Distance Learners.
19. Click Research Guides
20. The Research Guides page has a number of valuable resources. Subject Guides are designed to help you find the best resources within a particular discipline.
21. Course Guides are designed for specific classes. They will have resources specific to course content or assignments.
22. Topic Guides are built for general use. They typically include resources and tutorials addressing a specific theme.
23. Click Archives
24. This page includes information about the CMU Archives and Special Collections. Linked are digital exhibits and other digitized archival collections.
25. Next, click Contact Us
26. This page provides contact information that you can use to reach out to the library if you need assistance with your research (Click anywhere on the screen to continue).
27. The Chat with a Librarian feature allows you to contact a Librarian with your questions, even during hours when the library is closed.
28. That ends our tour! If you have any questions about the library or any of its resources, contact a librarian!
