Smiley Memorial Library Orientation

On This Page

• Learn More About Google Scholar
• Central Search: The "Look for a free full text option in Google Scholar" link
• Customize Google Scholar: Adding Library Links

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an academic search engine that is often a helpful tool when locating sources for your research. Google Scholar, which is different from Google, searches web content for scholarly literature and academic resources only. Please note that Google Scholar is not a one-stop shop for your research. While it can help locate research sources and find related works, the Library's databases will provide a wider collection of content and better search features. 

How to Find Full-Text Articles

Google Scholar will not provide full-text access to every article, but the search engine does link to full-text articles it finds in open-access online repositories. Look for a [PDF] or [HTML] link next to a Google Scholar result to find full-text articles. You can also link to Smiley Memorial Library to your Google Scholar account to see links back to full-text copies that are available through the Library (See Customize Google Scholar: Adding Library Links). 

Google Scholar "Cited By" and "Related Articles" Links

Google Scholar has two notable tools that can be helpful when searching for articles related to a source you are using in your research: the "Cited By" and "Related Articles" links found in each search result. The "Cited By" link allows you to view a list of other articles that have cited that article or book. The "Related Articles" link creates a list of articles that are similar in content. 

Using Central Search: The "Look for a free full text option for this title in Google Scholar" Link

When you are using Central Search, you will come across articles that are not available in full text through the Library. While you can request the article through interlibrary loan (ILL), it is important to remember that the ILL process is not automatic and a couple of days can pass before you receive the article. 

It is for this reason that we recommend you check Google Scholar prior to making an ILL request. Google Scholar sometimes will provide full-text articles that are not otherwise directly accessible through one of the Library's databases. The great news is that Central Search makes it incredibly easy to check! All you have to do is click the "Look for a free full text option for this title in Google Scholar" link associated with the Central Search record. 

To watch how this link is used, see the video below. 

Add Smiley Memorial Library to Your Google Scholar Account

Did you know that you can link the Library to your Google Scholar account? 

1. Visit https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the menu button (three horizontal lines) in the top left corner of the screen.
3. Next, click "Settings" from the menu list.
4. Click "Library Links."
5. Search for Central Methodist University in the "Show library access links" search bar.  
6. Click the check box next to "Central Methodist University - Available at CMU Library." 
7. Click the blue "Save" button. 
8.  Now, you should see Available at Central Methodist University next to the titles available through Smiley Memorial Library.