View our Fake News and Digital Media Literacy guide to learn more about the different forms of misinformation and how to spot them. This guide includes links to many interactive tutorials and videos.
View our Introduction to Research Skills guide for tutorials, videos, and other resources that guide you through the steps of the academic research process!
View our Managing Sources with Zotero guide for instructions, tutorials, videos, and other resources that guide you through how to sign up and use Zotero as a citation management tool.
Learn more about how to set up and use your free account with Libby to access our extensive collection of eBooks and audiobooks.
View our Using InterLibrary Loan guide for ways to get the full text articles and books you need, even if if you can't find them in our catalogs or databases!
Learn more about the services and resources offered by the Library!
Take a look at the Research Guides tab of the website to view our full offerings for subject, course, and topic guides.
|
|
Popular Articles | Scholarly Articles |
|---|---|---|
| Author(s) | Staff, journalists, or freelance writers (sometimes unattributed) | Scholars, researchers, or experts in a field. Author's affiliations are listed |
| Audience | General public or those without specialized knowledge or education |
Researchers, students, academics, and professionals in the field |
| Review | Typically evaluated by editors on staff | Often undergo peer review by experts in the subject field |
| Language | Easy-to-understand untechnical language | Academic and/or technical language |
| Citation | Rarely include bibliography/references in formal styles | Includes a formal bibliography or reference list |
| Content | Generally covers public interest, entertainment, or current events topics | Includes original research, new theories, and/or other knowledge to share with the academic world |
| Formats | Newspapers, magazines, websites, blogs, and etcetera | Journals and books by academic publishers |
660-248-6271
library@centralmethodist.edu